Terroir for great wines

The Count’s vineyard is located on the Plateau Cordais to the north of Gaillac, a wine region in the south-west of France that has fallen into oblivion. Embedded in gently rolling hills along the river Tarn, the elevated plain with its sparse soil is deemed the best terroir of the region with ideal conditions for great wines.

Terroir for great wines

The Count’s vineyard is located on the Plateau Cordais to the north of Gaillac, a wine region in the south-west of France that has fallen into oblivion. Embedded in gently rolling hills along the river Tarn, the elevated plain with its sparse soil is deemed the best terroir of the region with ideal conditions for great wines.

Terroir for great wines

The Count’s vineyard is located on the Plateau Cordais to the north of Gaillac, a wine region in the south-west of France that has fallen into oblivion. Embedded in gently rolling hills along the river Tarn, the elevated plain with its sparse soil is deemed the best terroir of the region with ideal conditions for great wines.

Terroir for great wines

The Count’s vineyard is located on the Plateau Cordais to the north of Gaillac, a wine region in the south-west of France that has fallen into oblivion. Embedded in gently rolling hills along the river Tarn, the elevated plain with its sparse soil is deemed the best terroir of the region with ideal conditions for great wines.

Terroir_Region_Wein_01

The vineyards: ancient wine country, newly interpreted

Steeped in history, the Count’s vineyards extend over almost 70 acres around the château. Where his predecessor used to produce rather rustic Cuvées from Syrah, Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon as well as local grape varieties, Duras and Braucol, today Ferdinand von Thun and his oenologists cultivate mainly Syrah, Merlot and Cabernet Franc.

When Ferdinand von Thun bought the Château on the Plateau Cordais from his predecessor, he found 25 acres of newly planted vines. This included Syrah, Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon as well as local varieties Duras and Braucol. A multitude of grape varieties, in other words, which until that point had only been established on the Château to make Cuvées, as it is required by the law. In order to discover the specific way in which each grape variety would express the terroir, the Count and his oenological advisor, Riccardo Cotarella, started with making varietal wines. In 2000, they reached the following conclusion: wines made from Duras and Braucol simply did not meet the desired style of Comte de Thun. They were banished.

Renaissance of a unique terroir

Gaillac is a wine region in the south-west of France that suffered greatly in the past and is now quietly sleepy, but with incredibly high potential, which Ferdinand von Thun and his friend Riccardo intend to re-awaken with their Comte de Thun vision. From the 13th to the 17th century, the robust, dark red wines of the region were in demand in all of Europe, especially because storage improved them over time, meaning they could be shipped without problems.

The excellent reputation of wines from Gaillac reached the English royal court, and even the upper classes in Bordeaux took deliveries of their rivals’ wines. Today, the harmonious connection between terroir, microclimate, engaging history and passionate people is what makes the region once again a cradle for great wines.

Terroir_Region_Slide_02
Terroir_Region_Slide_02

Renaissance of a unique terroir

Gaillac is a wine region in the south-west of France that suffered greatly in the past and is now quietly sleepy, but with incredibly high potential, which Ferdinand von Thun and his friend Riccardo intend to re-awaken with their Comte de Thun vision. From the 13th to the 17th century, the robust, dark red wines of the region were in demand in all of Europe, especially because storage improved them over time, meaning they could be shipped without problems.

The excellent reputation of wines from Gaillac reached the English royal court, and even the upper classes in Bordeaux took deliveries of their rivals’ wines. Today, the harmonious connection between terroir, microclimate, engaging history and passionate people is what makes the region once again a cradle for great wines.

Terroir_Region_Slider_01

The story of the Galliac 1/2

From the late Middle Ages to the time of the Sun King Louis XIV – i.e. from the 13th to the 17th century – the region’s strong, dark and long-lasting red wines were particularly appreciated in Northern Europe and were often preferred to the thinner Bordelais wines. In wooden barrels branded with the mark of a rooster, the “Crus Tarnais” were exported to the English royal court of Henry III. (1216-1272) and Henry VIII. (1491-1574) and known all over the world as “Vins du Coq”. This first trademark in the history of wine – first used in 1387 and officially recognized in 1501 – stood for great wines, which became better and better due to their shelf life during shipping. Its success inevitably invited rivalries and, ultimately, counterfeiting.

Terroir für große Weine

Das Weingut des Grafen liegt auf dem Plateau Cordais im Norden des Gaillac, einer in Vergessenheit geratenen Weinregion im Südwesten Frankreichs. Eingebettet in eine sanfte Hügellandschaft entlang des Flusses Tarn gilt die Hochebene mit ihren kargen Böden als das beste Terroir der Region mit idealen Bedingungen für große Weine.

Terroir für große Weine

Das Weingut des Grafen liegt auf dem Plateau Cordais im Norden des Gaillac, einer in Vergessenheit geratenen Weinregion im Südwesten Frankreichs. Eingebettet in eine sanfte Hügellandschaft entlang des Flusses Tarn gilt die Hochebene mit ihren kargen Böden als das beste Terroir der Region mit idealen Bedingungen für große Weine.

Terroir für große Weine

Das Weingut des Grafen liegt auf dem Plateau Cordais im Norden des Gaillac, einer in Vergessenheit geratenen Weinregion im Südwesten Frankreichs. Eingebettet in eine sanfte Hügellandschaft entlang des Flusses Tarn gilt die Hochebene mit ihren kargen Böden als das beste Terroir der Region mit idealen Bedingungen für große Weine.

Terroir für große Weine

Das Weingut des Grafen liegt auf dem Plateau Cordais im Norden des Gaillac, einer in Vergessenheit geratenen Weinregion im Südwesten Frankreichs. Eingebettet in eine sanfte Hügellandschaft entlang des Flusses Tarn gilt die Hochebene mit ihren kargen Böden als das beste Terroir der Region mit idealen Bedingungen für große Weine.

Terroir_Region_Wein_01

Die Weingärten: Uraltes Rebland, neu interpretiert

Das geschichtsträchtige Rebland des Grafen erstreckt sich über 27 Hektar um das Weingut. Dort wo sein Vorgänger aus Syrah, Merlot und Cabernet Sauvignon sowie den Lokalrebsorten Duras und Braucol einst recht rustikale Cuvées erzeugte, kultivieren Ferdinand von Thun und seine Önologen heute vorwiegend Syrah, Merlot und Cabernet Franc.

Das Weingut liegt auf dem Plateau Cordais im Norden des südwestfranzösischen Gaillac. Eingebettet in eine sanfte Hügellandschaft entlang des Flusses Tarn gilt die Hochebene des ehemaligen Haut-Pays mit ihren kargen Böden als das beste Terroir der Region mit idealen Bedingungen für grosse Weine. Das geschichtsträchtige Rebland des Weingutes erstreckt sich mit 27 Hektar ungefähr in der Mitte des Plateau Cordais und es werden die Rebsorten kultiviert, die bereits seit Jahrhunderten Teil der Rebkultur des Gaillac waren und im Klima, der Lage und dem Boden der Hochebene beste Voraussetzungen finden: Syrah, Cabernet Franc, Merlot, Pinot Noir.

Renaissance eines einzigartigen Terroirs

Der Gaillac ist eine von der Geschichte stark mitgenommene, vor sich hinschlummernde Weinregion im Südwesten Frankreichs mit unglaublich viel Potential, die Ferdinand von Thun und sein Freund Riccardo mit dem visionären Vorhaben “Comte de Thun“ wachküssen. Im 13. bis 17. Jahrhundert waren die kräftigen, dunkelroten Rotweine der Region in ganz Europa begehrt – unter anderem weil sie während der Lagerung immer besser wurden und sich so problemlos verschiffen ließen.

Der exzellente Ruf der Weine aus dem Gaillac reichte bis an den englischen Königshof – und selbst die Oberschicht von Bordeaux ließ sich mit dem Wein des Rivalen beliefern. Heute ist es die harmonische Verknüpfung zwischen Terroir, Mikroklima, mitreißender Historie und leidenschaftlichen Menschen, welche die Region wieder zur Wiege für große Weine bestimmt.

Terroir_Region_Slide_02
Terroir_Region_Slide_02

Renaissance eines einzigartigen Terroirs

Der Gaillac ist eine von der Geschichte stark mitgenommene, vor sich hinschlummernde Weinregion im Südwesten Frankreichs mit unglaublich viel Potential, die Ferdinand von Thun und sein Freund Riccardo mit dem visionären Vorhaben “Comte de Thun“ wachküssen. Im 13. bis 17. Jahrhundert waren die kräftigen, dunkelroten Rotweine der Region in ganz Europa begehrt – unter anderem weil sie während der Lagerung immer besser wurden und sich so problemlos verschiffen ließen.

Der exzellente Ruf der Weine aus dem Gaillac reichte bis an den englischen Königshof – und selbst die Oberschicht von Bordeaux ließ sich mit dem Wein des Rivalen beliefern. Heute ist es die harmonische Verknüpfung zwischen Terroir, Mikroklima, mitreißender Historie und leidenschaftlichen Menschen, welche die Region wieder zur Wiege für große Weine bestimmt.

Terroir_Region_Slider_01

Die Geschichte des Gaillac 1/2

Vom Spätmittelalter bis zur Zeit des Sonnenkönigs Louis XIV. – also vom 13. bis ins 17. Jahrhundert – wurden die kräftigen, dunklen und langlebigen Rotweine der Region besonders in Nordeuropa geschätzt und oft den dünneren Bordelais-Weinen vorgezogen. In Holzfässern, die mit dem Brandzeichen eines Hahns versehen waren, wurden die “Crus Tarnais“ bis an den englischen Königshof von Henry III. (1216-1272) und Henry VIII. (1491-1574) verschifft und in aller Welt als “Vins du Coq“ bekannt. Dieses erste Markenzeichen in der Geschichte des Weins – erstmals im Jahre 1387 verwendet und 1501 offiziell anerkannt – stand für große Weine, die aufgrund ihrer Lagerfähigkeit während der Verschiffung immer besser wurden. Sein Erfolg lud zwangsläufig zu Rivalitäten und letztendlich auch Fälschungen ein.